Aneesh Chaganty

Movie #15 The Big Heat

In Uncategorized on September 27, 2010 at 8:41 PM

Movie #15 The Big Heat

(1953, USA, d. Fritz Lang)

Today I had my first foray into a Fritz Lang feature. I had been waiting to get into his films for awhile now and I’m glad I did. This is definitely one of my favorite films. Made in 1953, the dialogue (and subtext as well) was so incredibly rich. It enraptured my attention like only a few Black and White films can really do to a modern day moviegoer. And finally, the direction was nearly flawless. Holding to a mostly film noir standard of filmmaking, Lang breaks a few of those rules just to keep the audience on their feet, including completely eliminating the role of the femme fatale on men’s fates. The most impressive thing for me, though, was the humor. The quips and jests and innuendoes were scattered but strong and it added to a great viewing. Finally, how Lang managed to come from a different country and direct an American film about culture correctly astounds me. If only there were more filmmakers like him in this world…

Leave a Reply

