Aneesh Chaganty

Movie #38 The Godfather, Part I

In Uncategorized on October 26, 2010 at 4:01 AM

Movie #38 The Godfather, Part I

(1972, US, d. Francis Ford Coppola)

What can I say? Easily of one of the most tonally consistent and perfect films ever made, The Godfather is an example of filmmaking at its best. Every shot, from its close-up open in the “I believe in  America” monologue to the closing shot of Kay’s realization of Michael’s position in the Mafia, is meaningful and deep. I have very little to actually say about it except every time I see it, I feel like I’m watching it for the first time.

Leave a Reply

