Aneesh Chaganty

Movie #46 Heat

In Uncategorized on November 3, 2010 at 4:38 AM

Movie #46 Heat

(1995, US, d. Michael Mann)

I’m going to start getting into Michael Mann’s films because he is one of America’s (in my opinion) premier directors. I have got to stop making comments about how every heist movie is the best I’ve ever seen. I said that about The Killing, but Heat is wildly original – from a filmmaking perspective – and taut. In my defense, I feel like had Kubrick decided to make The Killing in the late years of the 20th century, it would have turned out a lot like this. Let’s start with the performances: De Niro versus Pacino. What can get better? It would be easy to say that all this movie was was a vehicle for them to spit fire on each other but Michael Mann fills every frame with tension, sub-plot, sub-text, and meaning. I’m serious: Even motion within a frame in a Michael Mann movie has some sort of meaning. Now apart from all this critical analysis, from a purely laid-back perspective, this movie is bad-ass. Very, very, bad-ass.

Leave a Reply

