Aneesh Chaganty

Movie #68 Daredevil

In Uncategorized on November 28, 2010 at 7:34 AM

Movie #68 Daredevil

(2003, US, d. Mark Steven Johnson)

Before you all hand me crap for watching this, let me say two things: it’s not my first time (I knew what I was getting into) and since I was home for Thanksgiving, the whole family wanted to watch something easy. Now to the movie: Not that this film needs (or arguably, deserves) any considerable critical attention, Daredevil does find its moments of good in pretty much a puddle of bad. The biggest problem with it is that every line of dialogue and frame of visuals is straight out of the comic books, thereby rendering every minute of the film a potential cheesy zone. Daredevil has always been my favorite superhero and I’m a huge fan of those comics so trust me when I say that this film could have been a whole lot better. In fact, I would love to see it remade because the idea behind the guy is genius. In terms of the movie, I’d say Jennifer Garner literally saved the movie. Let me be more specific: her face was the only redeemable factor in this film (mind you this was made in the early 2000’s, so Ben Afleck hasn’t gotten good yet).

Leave a Reply

