Aneesh Chaganty

Movie #90 Tron: Legacy

In Uncategorized on December 18, 2010 at 5:30 AM

Movie #90 Tron: Legacy

(2010, US, d. Joseph Kosinski)

I’m going to say it: I loved this movie. For the past year (literally), I’ve been remarking on how stupid this film is going to turn out, how the only redeemable thing about it will be the action scenes, and how it will fall into the same pit so many big-budget actions movies have in the past. I don’t know if it was the low expectations I went in with, but man oh man, was I wrong. Reading the reviews didn’t help as well but it’s probably one of the first times this year when I very much disagreed with critical opinion. Critics described this movie as weak in plot and in character, however, I thought character was one of the best parts about the movie. I cared about Sam, his father, and Cora very much and I thought the writers, as proven by the last few shots of the film, knew their piece had to revolve around it. And it was purely because I cared so much for the protagonists that I thought the action scenes, which on their own would still have been spectacular, were more than that. Sure the film has a learning curve, but once you pick up it’s hard to let go. I also have to give Kosinski some props for creating diversity within this ubiquitous world. Watching the trailers I wondered how boring it would be to watch every same take place in the same landscape, but the film felt like it took place in more locales than the technological universe they occupied. It also felt unique in the sense that I’ve seen so many big-budget action films criticize how dependent society has become on technology and how this dependence will turn on us. Finally, Tron is the movie that fully embraces technology for what it is – even with its pitfalls. It asserts that, maybe, the answers and cures to all our problems lie within and that humans are the only people that can control it. But we must do so correctly. Bolstered with unusually strong performances from all three leads (Garrett Hedlund, Jeff Bridges, Olivia Wilde) in a movie that didn’t require it, Tron is probably the best popcorn action flick I’ve seen all year, save for Inception.

Leave a Reply

