Aneesh Chaganty

Movie #97 Easy A

In Uncategorized on December 23, 2010 at 6:10 AM

Movie #97 Easy A

(2010, US, d. Will Gluck)

I think this movie does the same thing Say Anything did to John Cusack, Risky Business did to Tom Cruise, and Disturbia did to Shia LaBeouf. It turns Emma Stone into a movie star. Not only is she gorgeous and breathtakingly unique, but she’s also a very good actress. I liked her in Zombieland and Superbad but I think Easy A will probably be the biggest turning point in her career. Bolstered with an unusually strong script for a teen comedy (reminiscent of Tina Fey’s Mean Girls), Stone turns what could have been a single dimension character into a complicated and honest girl who makes stupid mistakes. I know I’m going off a lot on this girl, but I’m serious when I say she really makes this movie fantastic. Apart from that, this film has a lot of names in its supporting roles. People like Thomas Haden Church, Lisa Kudrow, Stanley Tucci, Patricia Clarkson, SNL’s Fred Amisen, Amanda Bynes, Penn Bagdley, and Malcolm McDowell all lend their names in this surprisingly acute comedy about teen angst, which borrows its name from Nathaniel Hawthorne’s novel The Scarlet Letter. Sure it’s not as good as most John Hughes films from the 80’s (which Stone’s character makes a very obvious connection to as well), but I think it’s probably one of the best high school comedies since. If you’re looking for some easy laughs, definitely check it out. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

  1. I was very surprised at how much I actually enjoyed ‘Easy A’. I think as a rule I enjoy anything with Stanley Tucci, even if it is another American high school movie.
    Emma Stone is quite unique, and really enjoyable to watch.

    I also really like your blog, and the MAD challenge. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

