Aneesh Chaganty

Movie #99 How Do You Know

In Uncategorized on December 24, 2010 at 1:21 AM

Movie #99 How Do You Know

(2010, US, d. James L. Brooks)

James L. Brooks has made a couple really good movies, and they’re always about an adult coming of age against a romantic comedy backdrop. Brooks tries to get the same result here but unfortunately, it doesn’t work. In fact, it’s a sizable failure. The cast is there, but the script just wasn’t. The film didn’t know what it wanted and felt as indecisive as some of the characters in the film, which is saying a lot. Paul Rudd probably saves this movie from being a complete disaster here as his is the only performance that feels genuine and funny. I thought Reese Witherspoon’s, Owen Wilson’s, and Jack Nicholson’s characters were all just gross exaggerations of tiny quirks people have. Thankfully, I only paid 6 dollars to see this and taking into consideration the fact that it opened number 6 at the box office on its first weekend, I don’t think you’re missing much.

  1. I saw this movie for free, and I went into it thinking it was going to be a total disaster. I came out loving the movie (well not really but I didn’t think it was that bad). I think it all has to do with expectations. Plus, I was in the mood to watch something mindless for a while. I thought Paul Rudd’s performance was, as always, great. Just a thought on movies as a whole: I think a lot of how you perceive a movie is based on who you’re seeing it with. I know someone who could make the worst movie enjoyable. In my opinion, this movie did what it was set out to do: not to be a stellar movie, but to get laughs out of people.

Leave a Reply

