Aneesh Chaganty

Movie #111 The Thomas Crown Affair

In Uncategorized on January 3, 2011 at 8:00 AM

Movie #111 The Thomas Crown Affair

(1968, US, d. Norman Jewison)

I don’t really know what to think of this one. I went in expecting a heist film but was instead given a rather tedious suspense film. Perhaps I’m calling it tedious because I didn’t really know what I was getting into, but for all effective purposes, I enjoyed the 1999 remake of this film much much more. Parts of this film were executed with lots of style. The opening bank heist, overseen by the rich Thomas Crown (played by Steve McQueen) for instance that implemented the (obviously) new split-screen editing style. Or the chess match between Crown and his lover/enemy Vicky (played by Faye Dunaway). But overall it was the lack of chemistry and intrigue that sank this film for me. In a lot of ways it reminded me both of Stanley Kubrick’s The Killing and the Jolie/Depp thriller The Tourist. This film’s opening heist is heavily borrowed from the former – people who barely know each other having to work on a ticking clock to conduct a heist, which throughout the film’s events begin to break down again. It reminded me of the latter in the sense that I just didn’t care. Like Jolie and Depp, there was no chemistry between the individually lovable McQueen and Dunaway. Second, the music choices were completely off and though usually I wouldn’t care as much, one of the film’s selling points is how modern and glamorous it was. The music needed to match that tone. Finally, it was just plain boring. Thomas Crown’s lifestyle is supposed to fast and exciting and though the film does include sequences where he just shows off his wealth, these sequences are about 5 minutes longer than they should be.Every scene dragged and though I wasn’t looking at my figurative watch every second, I did wonder how much longer the movie was going to take.

Leave a Reply

