Aneesh Chaganty

Movie #249 World’s Greatest Dad

In Uncategorized on August 7, 2011 at 7:05 PM

Movie #249 World’s Greatest Dad

(2009, US, d. Bobcat Goldwaithe)

It’s an interesting and unique film, that’s for sure. But the conclusion is that it is way too unique for me. To me, it felt terrible to watch. I hated every character, including the lead high school teacher (played by Robin Williams). I hated his quasi-girlfriend. I hated the friendly and talented black teacher. But I especially hated Williams’ son (played by Daryl Sabara). Their interactions alone in the first 20 minutes of the film are enough to turn me off. Without a single redeeming character, this little prick ruined every frame of celluloid here. Sex obsessed, fetish obsessed, vulgarity obsessed, and without a shred of self-censorship, the character just walked the earth, completely undeserving of any air that was given to him. In fact, I was happy when he accidentally killed himself while masturbating. I was overjoyed. I could have stopped the film right then and there. But I didn’t, sadly. Then I had to watch how Williams’ sad character becomes despicable and fake when he begins to publish fake journal articles from his son, who he convinces everyone had simply killed himself because there was no beauty in the world. It’s a dark comedy that doesn’t really make you laugh, doesn’t really make you smile, and doesn’t really make you care. For a film with as many great reviews as it has,  World’s Greatest Dad is an unemotional film to watch, even more to review.

  1. I finally caught up with WGD last night and, despite the generally positive reviews it received, I have to agree with you and go one step further . . . WGD is probably the WORST movie of 2009.

    I wanted to like this film. I did not even realize, until the end credits, that it was written and directed by Bobcat Goldthwaite. Though I’m not surprised to discover this movie as credited to him, I did not have any preconceived notion before viewing it, and my dislike of Bobcat Goldthwaite played no part in my objective viewing of the film.

    I found the film utterly tasteless with no redeeming value whatsoever (and, yes, I made the effort to find something). The movie had but one joke and beat it until it was not only dead, but absolutely annihilated. The only likable character was the school friend, Andrew, but even he was pathetic in his own way.

    The movie did not know if it wanted to be a satire, a black comedy, or a raunchfest; regardless, there wasn’t a laugh to be had. And, if that weren’t enough, it was downright cruel and meanspirited. It was riddled with cliches and predictable situations, especially the finale.

Leave a Reply

