Aneesh Chaganty

Movie #260 Transformers: Dark of the Moon

In Uncategorized on August 10, 2011 at 7:57 PM

Movie #260 Transformers: Dark of the Moon

(2011, US, d. Michael Bay)

Director Michael Bay often told his crew and post-production team that Dark of the Moon was going to be more intimate and involve less explosions than all the other Transformers films. I don’t know whether he was kidding or just doesn’t know how to judge his own film, because this is certainly not that. First off, I have to admit that the first 45-60 minutes of this film were the worst piece of Transformers entertainment in all three films combined. Not only were the events uninteresting, they were predictable and honestly, didn’t make a shred of sense. I kept turning to my friend in the theater and asking, “What the hell just happened?”, usually to a response of a shrug. But from there the film (thankfully) picks up speed. And by this I mean, we start watching bigger explosions. You have to hand it to Mr. Bay. He knows how to shoot a scene. Watching Chicago crumble before my eyes (I was also in Chicago when I saw this so that aided the effect a little) and base jumpers catapult out of jets and into the skyscrapers of the city in IMAX 3D is something I don’t want to give back. His flair for theatrics and technical achievement is beyond me. If only he knew how to tell a compelling and intricate story, he would be unstoppable – or just a lot more like James Cameron. In Dark of the Moon, we are treated to the very new love of Shia LaBeouf, played by Rosie Huntington-Whiteley. I didn’t have to look that name up. Somehow, I just remember (It’s because she’s hot). Her scenes are surprisingly better than I expected. You’d think hiring a Victoria’s Secret model to act in the place of Megan Fox would be a downgrade, but here she seems to work, understanding what little material Bay has set for her. LaBeouf, who is usually one of my favorite actors here, seems to do a lot of screaming. The humor is negligible. Apart from that, we have the same movie. Does the series end? Not really. Kind of though. But hey, as terrible or great (depending on how you want to look at it) this film was, you can bet I’ll be in the seat for the sequel.

  1. not crazy about the film but it was sure the best of the three! I hope that if they continue this series it will be less nauseating! An avid fan of Martin Scorcese (awesome) as well and IMO some of the greats! Clint Eastwood, Ridley Scott and Darren Aranofsky! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

