Aneesh Chaganty

Movies #297-302 Harry Potter 1-6

In Uncategorized on August 26, 2011 at 12:56 AM

Movies #297-302 

Harry Potter and the Sorceror’s Stone (2011, UK, d. Chris Columbus), Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (2002, UK, d. Chris Columbus), Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2004, UK, d. Alfonso Cuaron), Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2005, UK, d. Mike Newell), Harry Potter and the Order of the Pheonix (2007, UK, d. David Yates), Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2009, UK, d. David Yates)

Yes, I know this sort of format is new to me. But believe me this: I’ve written so many reviews. This is not a cop-out. Prior to watching the final installment of the Harry Potter series, my brother and I went on a movie-watching marathon. Every film fit into the timespan of about five days and the experience as one large piece of film is what I’m reviewing here. I’ve seen the films a hundred times but now that it is all over, I can finally look back on them as one big, long movie.

The Harry Potter series, like to everyone else, represents so much to me. It represents growing up, innocence, guilt, love, passion, evil, friendship, and everything in between. It taught me more than I could ask for. And looking at the films as one large canvas, I have to say they did a phenomenal job of making films and continuing a very difficult story to tell. Sure they had more time in between films, but I honestly believe this series is as good as the Lord of the Rings trilogy. Each film targets the right audience, tells the right story, and conveys the right mood. Sure, they all mis-step here and there (acting once in awhile, the casting of the second Dumbledore, fire talks with Sirius in the fourth movie, etc), but it is the overall picture that is near perfect. Watching kids grow up, continue to make audiences laugh, cry, and scream is a magical thing. And you got to hand it to the filmmakers of this marvelous trilogy. They had to start over with every one. And they did a wonderful job. I’m sad it’s all over. But at least I’ll have these films to keep me company.

 

Leave a Reply

